University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help

University of Texas Libraries

Engineering Library
Quick Links

About the Library

Contact & Location

Hours

Book Return

Patents & Trademarks

Multimedia
DVDs Equipment

Ask the Engineering Library

Renew Books

Petroleum & Geosystems Engineering Resources

Articles, Journals & Databases
Books

Additional Resources
Web sites

Further Assistance


Articles, Journals & Databases

Databases

  • Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) publications are now available through OnePetro. For further instructions click here.
  • Engineering Index (EI) - contains Compendex, EI WEB - indexes scholarly journals and conferences in all areas of engineering.
  • Academic Search Complete - a good source for undergraduates; many full-text articles; interdisciplinary, with good coverage of the applied sciences
  • GeoRef - Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present
  • GEOBASE - An interdisciplinary database for the fields of physical and human geography, geology, ecology, environmental studies, international development and planning, oceanography, and related disciplines areas of engineering
  • GeoScienceWorld - Provides full text access to over 30 core journals from a variety of geoscience publishers
  • AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) Datapages - Provides full text access to publications from the AAPG
  • AGU (American Geophysical Union) Journals - Provides full text access to the journals published by the American Geophysical Union
  • IEEE Xplore - indexing and full-text of IEEE publications.
  • API (American Petroleum Institute) Standards
  • Aerospace & High Technology Database - Also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics
  • Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) - (Science Citation) - a subject/author index but unique in its cited-reference search - which scientific works have been cited and by whom.
  • Dissertation Abstracts International (ProQuest)- Contains more than 1.5 million entries representing the work of authors from over 1,000 North American and European universities. All subject areas are covered

Journals

  • To see if we have a particular journal (i.e. Nature, Journal of Petroleum Geology), either in print or electronic format, search the Catalog.
  • To see if particular journal is available in electronic format search Find a Journal.

top of page


Books

Library Catalog - Locate any of eight million items, including books, journals, and other materials in the University of Texas Libraries collections.

Example of subject searches

  • Rock Mechanics
  • Petroleum Reserves
  • Oil reservoir engineering
  • Fluid dynamics
  • Secondary recovery of oil

Reference Books

Petroleum engineering handbook for the practicing engineer
TN 870 M58 1992 V.1 - V.2 Engineering Lib Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY

Standard handbook of petroleum & natural gas engineering. 2nd ed.
TN 870 S6233 2005 Engineering Lib Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY

Petroleum engineering handbook.
TN 870 P493 1987 Engineering Lib Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY

Standard handbook of petroleum & natural gas engineering. / (6th ed.)
TN 870 S6233 1996 V.1 - V.2 Engineering Lib Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY

The illustrated petroleum reference dictionary. 1994
TN 865 I43 1994 Engineering Lib Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY

Electronic Books

top of page


Additional Library Resources

 

top of page


Web sites

University of Texas Departments, Centers & Institutes

Links

Professional Organizations and Society Web Sites

top of page


Further Assistance

If you need further assistance don't hesitate to ask a librarian!

top of page